Why I Accepted to be Atuluse of Esure – Fayose

Ekiti State governor, Mr Ayodele Fayose has been appointed as Atunluse of Esure Ekiti by Elesure of Esure, Oba Adebanji Ajibola.

At the programme held at St Philips Catholic Primary School, Esure Ekiti, the monarch said the title was given to the governor to appreciate his meaningful contribution to the development of the town during his first term in office and for what he is still doing now.

The monarch praised the doggedness, boldness and courage of the governor for pointing out inadequacies of the government at the centre, saying that the governor should be commended and not crucified.

Stressing that virile opposition is an ingredient of democracy, Oba Ajibola also enjoined Fayose to continue with the good works he is doing in Ekiti and never allow himself to be distracted by the noises of the opposition.

The monarch counseled the governor saying, ” Ekiti people will judge you by what you did to make Ekiti better and not by the number or how you have responded to criticisms by the opposition.”

In response, the governor said that he accepted the title for peace to reign between the Esure and Omu quarters in Esure Ekiti.

The governor called on both parties to embrace peace in the interest of progress of the town.

While accepting the title, the governor said the installation ceremony will be performed in the future after unity and peace has fully returned to the town.

Fayose who visited the two quarters after the ceremony noted that peace negotiation between them would continue in order to find lasting solution to the crisis which started in 2002.

The governor also announced a donation of sum from the government as compensation for those whose properties were damaged during a fracas between Esure and Ilomu quarters recently.

The governor also ordered that a borehole ‎be sunk in the community while the moribund borehole in the town should be repaired immediately.

At the ceremony were some senior government functionaries, members of the House of Assembly and PDP leaders.