Office of the Deputy Governor

Prof. Modupe Adelabu

Prof. Modupe Adelabu is the Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Nigeria.

An Ado-Ekiti Princess, Prof Adelabu was born on May 23rd, 1950 in Ado Ekiti to Prince and Mrs. Samuel Adepoju Adejugbe. She attended Christ’s School, Ado-Ekiti (1962 – 1967) and Olivet Baptist High School, Oyo (1968 -1970). She holds a B.A. (Ed) (1975); MPhil (1981); and PhD (1990), all from the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile- Ife.

Prof Adelabu started her teaching career as a Graduate Assistant in 1976 in the Department of Educational Administration and Planning , OAU, where she rose to the post of Professor in 2008. She served as Head of the Department of Educational Administration several times and also served as External Examiner in some universities including the University of Ibadan; University of Lagos; University of Ilorin and Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti.

She has served as Council Member of National Teachers’ Institute (2001 – 2003), Council Member, Christ International Divinity College (an affiliate of Acadia University Canada) Erinmo (2005 – 2010); Member Planning and Implementation Committee Joseph Ayo Babalola University (2004 – 2005); Member of Council Joseph Ayo Babalola University (2005 – 2010). She was also a foundation member of Board, Ekiti State World Bank Assisted Poverty Reduction Agency (2000 – 2003); Member of Oxford Round Table, Oxford England, among other bodies.

A seasoned scholar and administrator of international repute, Prof Adelabu’s major research area is on policy and personnel issues in education, including the roles of the state in education; teacher education as well poverty and gender related issues in education, particularly in rural areas. She has published over 30 articles in both national and international journals.
She has been involved in consultancy work for the World Bank, Universal Basic Education Commission in Nigeria, United Kingdom Department for International Development (DFID) and other international agencies.
She has also served as resource person for UNDP, UNICEF and UNESCO on various educational issues. She was also part of the 15-member Education Reform Panel that worked on Ekiti State government’s reforms in the education sector.
She is the recipient of the 2013 Kwame Nkrumah Leadership Award ( African Administration Icon) organised by the All- African Student Union (ASSU).

Adelabu, a Professor of Education at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile –Ife, was Head of the Department of Education Administration and Planning of the institution before her appointment as Chairperson of Ekiti State SUBEB in July 2011.

The Office of the Deputy Governor is an autonomous Department headed by Her Excellency, the Deputy Governor and being assisted by her aides both political and the technocrats.

The office supervises the following Departments/Offices:

  • Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board
  • Christian Pilgrims Welfare Board
  • Boundary Commission
  • State Emergency Relief Agency

In the recent time, the Deputy Governor coordinates the activities of the Local Government Chairmen through the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Governments and Culture.


The following Departments exist within the Deputy Governor’s Office:

Protocol Department

This Department is headed by the Director of Protocol and assisted by the 4 other Protocol Officers. The Department is responsible for the general welfare of the Deputy Governor. Some of its functions includes:

  1. Supervision of both office/lodge.
  2. Making protocol arrangements of all the official assignments of the Deputy Governor.
  3. Making preparation/protocol arrangements for all the official touring of the Deputy Governor.
  4. Processing the financial requests of the office.
  5. Relating with appropriate government departments for the release of fund to the office.
Finance & Administration Department

This Department is headed by the P.A Admin/Director Finance and Administration. Under the supervision of the Director Of Protocol. Below are some of its functions:

  1. Coordination of all the activities of the staff of the office and the lodge.
  2. Writing of speeches and letters for Her Excellency.
  3. Supervision of the Registry and Implementation of all policies of Government and general welfare of the staff. E.g Promotion, Appointments, Salaries etc.
  4. Oversees the activities of the Accounts Department.
  5. Attending to any other assignments as directed by Her Excellency, the Deputy Governor.
Accounts Department

The Department has a Chief Accountant and other Senior Staff who reports to the DFA. It consists of Sections such as Other Charges, Salary Unit and Audit etc. the Department is responsible for all financial transaction in the office.

Press Department

The Department is headed by a Special Assistant (Media) who is a Political Office holder and assisted by a Press officer (career officer). The Department covers all Media/Social engagements of the Deputy Governor.

Political Department

The Department is headed by the Deputy Chief of Staff. Other Political Office holders in the Department include the Deputy Chief of Protocol, Special Assistant Media, Special Assistant Security, Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistant Communication, Special Assistant Domestic, Special Assistant Political, One Protocol Officer and One Driver. They are all directly responsible to the Deputy Governor.

Security Department

The Department is in charge of the Security of the Deputy Governor and her aides. The security personnel include, the CIB, SSS, Civil Defence, Regular Police and Mobile Police etc.

Transport Section

This Section is headed by the Senior Works Superintendent under the supervision of both the Director of protocol and P.A. Admin. The Senior Works Superintendent is responsible for the maintenance of convoy vehicles and allocation of drivers to them.


The office is fairly staffed. We have the following categories of officer.

  1. Administrative Officers – 2
  2. Executive Officers – 4
  3. Secretarial Cadre – 11
  4. Press Crew – 6
  5. Executive Officer Accounts – 5
  6. Clerical Staff – 9
  7. Audit Department – 2
  8. Protocol Department – 2
  9. Laundry Department – 2
  10. Gardener – 6
  11. Catering – 10
  12. Messenger – 11
  13. Drivers – 18
  14. Temporary Staff – 2
  15. Store – 1
  16. NYSC – 27
S/N Name Rank
1. Prof. Modupe Adelabu Deputy Governor
2. Hon. Tale Oguntoyinbo Special Adviser to Her Excellency
3. Mr. Ayo Adegbite Deputy Chief of Staff
4. Mr. Ademola Adetola Deputy Chief of Protocol
5. Mr. Ogunmodede Olubunmi Special Assistant on Comm/Media
6. Mr. Abereola Emmanuel Special Assistant Security
7. Mrs. Olaifa Yemi Special Assistant to Her Excellency
8. Hon. Omiyale Emmanuel Taiwo S. A. on Political
9. Hon. Kayode Alakinyede S. A. on Party Matters
10. Mr. Ibitoye Ojo S. A. on Domestic Affairs
11. Mr. Ale Olukayode Ebenezer P. A. to Special Adviser to Her Excellency
12 Mr. Babatunde Alokan Permanent Secretary
13 Mr. Daramola David Olusegun Special Assisty. Publicit
14. Mr. Olaoye Babatunde Andrew Director of Protocol
15. Mrs. Owolabi Grace Ronke DAS
16. Mrs. Adeleye E. A. DFA
17. Mr. Adelusi J. O. CIA

To send questions, comments or feedback to the Deputy Governor, please use the form below

Receive Newsletters from Ekiti State


Switch to our mobile site