Budget And Economic Planning

Formerly part of the Ministry of Finance, Budget and Economic Planning. The Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning was culled out from the parent Ministry in 2011. The Ministry is saddled with the responsibility of maintaining and regulating the Fiscal Policies of the State to move the economy forward.

The Ministry is divided into Finance and Account; Project Planning, Multilateral Relations,Project Monitoring and Budget Departments.

The Ministry also has the following Units operating within it:

  1. Directorate of Administration & Supplies,
  2. ,Finance & Accounts
  3. Project Monitoring & Evaluation,
  4. Project Plannning, Research & Statistics
  5. Budget
  6. Multilateral Relations

In continuation of its efforts at improving the Economy of Ekiti State, the Ministry is responsible for the following Projects and Programmes:

  • Conducting of Economic Summit
  • YESSO activities are on-going with the main objective of Establishing the Single Register of poor and Vulnerable House-hold in the State. as at now YESSO-SOCU Office has established Single Register for Six pilot LGAs: Ido-Osi, Ado, Gbonyin, Oye, Ekiti West and Ekiti South
  • Conducting of Development Strategy
  • Monitoring & Evaluation of all State Capital Projects
  • Conducting of State wide Consultative Forum
  • Monitoring & Evaluation of Budgetary Performances
  • Conducting of Population Data Base
  • Preparation & Coordination of State Recurrent & Capital Budgets

Our Vision

To be the indispensable driving force of Ekiti State Economic Planning Development

Our Mission

Ensuring efficient and effective policy planning and implementation of programmes and projects that delivers public value to Ekiti People.


  1. Preparation of the comprehensive short/medium term and perspective long term development plans.
  2. Preparation of Annual Capital & Recurrent Budget.
  3. Coordinating externally assisted programmes/projects coming to the state.
  4. Monitoring the progress and challenges of plan implementation of all Government capital project sites within and outside.
  5. Preparing of the annual and bi-annual reports on the implementation of capital projects and submission of same to the State Tenders Board for Clarification and further processing.
  6. Ensuring adequate planning and coordination of National Population Programme (NPP) at state level.
  7. Supporting Aggressive Revenue Generation
  8. Research and Statistics Function
  9. Relating with Federal Government and other Ministries, Agencies of Government, Development Partners and International Agencies on development issues.
Name Designation
Mr. Olugbenga Olajide Commissioner
Mr Olusesan Alabi -Permanent Secretary
Mr J.B.Folorunso -Director,Budget
Mr.F. A. Otewogbola Director, Project Planning Department
Mr. D. B. Faniyan Director, Multilateral Relations Department
Mrs G.A. Atewologun Director, Project Monitoring and Evaluation Department
Mr. A. Adefolaju Director, Directorate of Administration & Supplies
Mr. A. Daramola Director, Finance & Accounts
Name Designation Period
Mr Olajide Adebisi (JP) Permanent Secretary 2000 – 2003
Mr. Lanre Aribisala Permanent Secretary 2003 – 2007
Mrs Taiye Ajibade Executive Secretary 2007 – 2008
Mr Leye Fagbemi Executive Secretary 2008 – 2009
Mr. S.I.Folorunso Permanent Secretary 2011 to date
Mr Biodun Oyebanji Commissioner 2010 to 2014