Historical Background and Geography

Aramoko-Ekiti is the Headquarters of Ekiti West Local Government in Ekiti State. It is an ancient town with access roads to all parts of Ekiti and Osun States. It is approximately 26 kilometers to Ado-Ekiti, the capital of Ekiti State, 15 kilometers to Ijero-Ekiti, 15 kilometers to the warm spring at Ikogosi Ekiti and about 42 kilometers to Ilesa in Osun State.

From time immemorial, Aramoko-Ekiti has been a sovereign town. The founder and the first ruler was one of the sixteen Obas and foremost Paramount Rulers in Yorubaland with full traditional right and authority to wear without any harm of danger the Original Special beaded crown decorated with sixteen birds. (The Eiye Okin, ‘Iyere Okin’, symbolised it) was bestowed on him by the ODUDUWA (The progenitor of all Yoruba race) and other emblems of ruling Authority before they were sent out of Ile-Ife (The cradle of Yoruba Race) to search for suitable land on which they could set-up their respective kingdoms independent of one another’s control.

As an ancient town, its history dates back to many centuries ago. Aramoko Ekiti has a unique historical beginning with very rich traditional and cultural heritage to be proud of. In those olden days, the administration of the town was entirely in the hands of a council of seventeen high chiefs which also constitute the kingmakers. Chief Ologbudu who is called EYELOGBUDU is a woman. She is traditionally recognized as the head of all the womenfolk in Aramoko Kingdom.

Ruling Houses

There are three Ruling Houses in Aramoko Kingdom:

  1. The OLOKUN
  3. The ARAKALE


The traditional institutions in Aramoko are very much alive till date. Special festivities for peace, good harvest, prevention of diseases and death of young people are staged or held annually and occassionally as they are due for such ancestral gods such as OGUN, IJUKU, ALELE, ORISA OWARUNLA and all the give OSUNS of Ara. The two of the important annual events which attract many visitors to the town are:

  • OLOKUN festival
  • ODUN EGUNGUN ARA festival


Due to the peaceful co-existence, and traditional hospitality of the people of Aramoko, many people have come to Aramoko Kingdom to settle and make a living either as farmers, traders, professionals and civil servants. It is interesting to note that some communities such as the Igbos; the Urhobos, the Itsekiris; the Hausas, the Oyos, the Igbiras e.t.c. who have settled and inter-married with the indigenes.

Agriculture is the main and traditional occupation of the community. This is supplemented by petty trading by the womenfolk. The farmers cultivate wide range of food crops viz:- yam, cassava, maize, rice, plantain and banana. The cash crops are mainly cocoa, kolanuts and timber.

Some Past Alara of Aramoko

Oduduwa, the progenitor of the Yoruba race had two sons – OKANBI and ODOFIN. Oranmiyan was the first son of Okanbi while ALARA was the first son of Olofin. Adimula succeeded Oduduwa on the throne at Ile-Ife (the cradle of all Yoruba race). Other sons of Olofin are Ajero,Orangun and Owa Obokun.

In the olden days, Alamoye who was the Tenth Alara, relocated the throne from Ohan to the present site at ARA . He thereafter installed his nephew as Olohan of Erijiyan to look after the sacred site of the old throne.

Towns and Villages Making up Aramokoland

  • Aramoko – Ekiti Hq. Ekiti West Local Government
  • Ajaye Oke – Administered by Elejofi
  • Ajaye Odo – Administered by Elejofi
  • Temidire – Administered by Elejofi
  • Ile-Ona – Administered by Olona
  • Kajola – Administered by Odogun
  • Ajebamidele – Administered by Atiba
  • Ile-Egbe – Administered by Alafe
  • Surulere – Administered by Oisinkin
  • Orisunmibare – Administered by Okunato
  • Temidire Akola – Administered by Ogboni
  • Surulere – Administered by Sajowa
  • Olorunsogo – Administered by Asasa
  • Araromi Oke-Aro – Administered by Elejingbo