Ministry of Local Government, Community Development and Chieftaincy Affairs

The Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs was created in May, 2005, when the former Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Department was carved out of the office of the Deputy Governor. It has metamorphosed at different times with different names. Currently the Ministry is called Ministry of Local Government, Community Development and Chieftaincy Affairs. It was created by the present administration at its inception in October, 2014. It is located in the Old Governor’s Office along Barracks road, Ado – Ekiti. The Ministry now has six Departments, and three Local Government Inspectorate units and an agency.

Vision and Mission Statements:

    The vision of the Ministry is to ensure that the Local Government Areas key into the 6 –cardinal program of the Government while the mission is to ensure that there is proper harmony among the traditional rulers and development in towns and villages of the State.

Functions, Roles and Responsibilities of the Ministry

  • Provision of guidelines for the operation of Local Governments as approved by the State Government.
  • Coordinating the activities of the 16 Local Government Councils.
  • Serves as liaison between the State, MDAs and Local Governments.
  • Secretariat for the Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC).
  • Monitoring of capital projects of Local Governments.
  • Capacity development of political office holders in Local Governments.
  • Taking periodic inventory of ICT equipment within MDAs.
  • Prepare ICT projects and programme Concepts for the State Government.
  • Issuance call circular to councils and ensures their compliance with budgetary provisions.
  • To ensuring the welfare of the traditional office holders.
  • Processing for the approval of Mr. Governor and the House of Assembly remuneration packages of Political Office Holders.
  • Appraisal of recommendations on Local Governments issues that are referred to the Ministry.
  • Review of Local Government Medium Term Fiscal Framework (MTF) with a critical look at the re-occurring issues in Local Government Financial Administration
  • Ensuring proper planning and adequate evaluation of the processes of projects implementation at the Local Government Areas.
  • Serves as secretariat to Ekiti State Council of Traditional Rulers.
  • Appointment of Recognized Chieftaincies in communities with vacant Chieftaincy Stools; seeing to the welfare of the Royal Fathers across the State.
  • Settlement of Chieftaincy disputes among communities in the State and serving as Secretariat to Ekiti State Council of Traditional Rulers.
  • Protecting the image of the Obaship Institution both within and outside the State.
  • Discipline of both recognized and minor chiefs.
  • Representing the State Government (in conjunction with the Ministry of Justice) in law court on litigations relating to Chieftaincy matters.
  • Encouragement of the formation of Community Development Associations.
  • Sensitization and mobilization of communities to buy into Community development Associations.
  • Organises Community Needs Assessment and projects selection in Communities of the State, holding meeting with CDAs, Community Leaders and Community Based Organisations.
  • Liaises with the relevant Agencies to support Community Development activities, counsel Communities on maintenance and sustenance of completed Community and Government projects
  • Collaborates with NGOs dealing in social development activities CLP, UNICEF, EU and other related with socio-political development and organizes Town day celebration in collaboration with Community Based Organisation for project development and showcasing Community cultural and Economic potential for external assistance.
  • Projects Government’s human face through financial assistance and partnership with CDAs to enhance effective communities self help projects.


The political head of the Ministry is the Honourable Commissioner who attends the State Executive Council meetings and also attends to other political matters concerning the Ministry. The Permanent Secretary is the Head of administration and the Accounting officer of the Ministry. The Chieftaincy Affairs Department is headed by an Executive Secretary. Since the Chieftaincy Affairs Department has an Executive Secretary, the supervision of the Department by the Permanent Secretary is tangential. Other Principal Officers are three Inspectors of Local Governments, who were deployed from the pool of Local Government administrators. Each Local Government Inspector heads a Senatorial district which comprises all the LGs therein. They have offices at Aramoko (Central), Ikere (South) and Ido- Ekiti (North) and report to the Ministry periodically. Moreover, there are Directors, who are the heads of the following Departments,

  • Administration and Supplies
  • Finance and Accounts
  • Local Government Affairs
  • Community Development
  • Chieftaincy Affairs
  • Planning Research & Statistics
  • Other units are the office of Internal Auditor and the

Affiliated Agencies

    The only agency affiliated with the Ministry is EKSCDA (Ekiti State Community Development Agency)

On-Going Projects/Programs

The Ministry oversees the execution of road and modern market projects which are on-going at various Local Government Areas of the State. The projects include:-

  • Renovation of the Obas’ Chamber
  • Filling of vacant Chieftaincy stools in some towns and villages
  • Mobilization, Sensitization and Education Program– Mobilization, Sensitization and Education of Community/Opinion Leaders, CDAs and CBOs on projects development and National/State current issues (Voters Education) gender and vulnerable group investment.
  • Conduct of Community Needs Assessment in communities for data collection for security, peaceful co-existence and community development.
  • World Bank Support Program- The World Bank provide financial support to State in form of Grants-in-aid for 32 on-going communities self-help projects and proposed another new communities self-help project through EKCSDA.


(i) National Community Development Council of Nigeria

(ii) Quarterly State Community Development Council

(iii) South West Conference of National Community Development Council of Nigeria.

(iv) Annual Conference of Director and Deputy Directors of Community Development Services in Nigeria.

(v) National Exchange Program or Community Development

Name Designation
Barr. Kayode Abe (mni) Permanent Secretary
Mr. Ale James A Admin. Secretary (Chieftaincy Affairs)
Mr. Olusola Segun I Director of Comm. Development
Mr. Akinleye Akinjide. Director of Local Government Affairs
Mrs Kayode-Ojo, O. O. Director of Admin and Supplies
Mr.Omotehinse M Director of Chieftaincy
Mr. Abiola Michael O Director of Finance & Accounts
Engr. Ajayi T.A. Director of Plann., Research and Statistics